chicagolovespanini

Going panini and beyond in the Windy City – and loving it!

Let’s wrap things up after Christmas! My turkey and three cheese wrap

Leave a comment

It’s that time of the year again – the time to ask the question: what should I make with the leftover turkey meat? As a small family, we always buy turkeys that are on the small side. Even so, there is always extra meat left, which lingers in the fridge for days on end. I use shredded turkey in the omelette I make for my husband in the morning, and in the occasional post-Christmas turkey sandwich. Moreover, I have recently started to use leftover roast turkey to make wraps.

My husband is not a big fan of wraps. He gets to eat a lot of them at work, and the ones that are delivered by the catering company are always on the heavy, greasy side (or so he says) and have a lot of mayonnaise in them. Thankfully, I have persuaded him to give wraps another try, with promising results.

As you know by now, I hardly ever use mayo in our home-cooked meals, and wraps make no exception. Instead, I use cheese – a lot of it! In this wrap I used no less than three cheese varieties, all to my and husband’s liking: cottage cheese, feta cheese and mozzarella. The fluid wholesomeness of the cottage cheese works well with the constant assertiveness of the feta and the gooey seductiveness of the mozzarella. In my opinion, this combo can really do no wrong.

To make this wrap I used a herb flatbread I found on sale at a grocery store nearby. You can use any flatbread available locally at an affordable price, or you can make your own (a process I have yet to master). Store-bought or homemade, flavored or plain, the flatbread will be the canvas – or should I say the foundation? – you’re going to use to design your culinary creation, so pick yours carefully šŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

1 cup roast turkey meat (preferably shredded)

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup small curd cottage cheese

1/3 cup feta cheese crumbles

2 romaine lettuce leaves

3-4 plum or cherry tomatoes (I used yellow plum tomatoes)

1 flatbread

Salt and pepper to taste

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Distribute the turkey meat evenly on the flatbread. Sprinkle the shredded mozzarella on top of the meat. Microwave the flatbread for about 40 seconds or until the cheese has melted.Ā 

Mmmm, I just love this gooey deliciousness!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Put the feta cheese and the cottage cheese in a bowl and mix with a spoon. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Spread half of the feta&cottage cheese mixture on top of the turkey meat on the flatbread. Cut the tomatoes in half and place some on the cheese. Continue by adding the lettuce, the other half of the cheese mixture, and any remaining tomato slices.

You must be able to roll the flatbread to make a wrap, which means that as much as you want to add more ingredients, you must also exercise restraint at this point for very practical reasons.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Roll the flatbread slowly and carefully. Let the wrap “rest” for a couple of minutes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cut the wrap in half and serve it with extra lettuce & tomato salad on the side.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We have just started to love wraps and we have eaten quite a few these past few days. With just a few easily accessible ingredients, a predictable post-Christmas meal can become an exciting opportunity to showcase the healthfulness and versatility of turkey meat. Leftovers? No more šŸ™‚

Leave a comment